Doune Castle and nearby visits: 40 facts and figures 2026

Published prices, access facts and walks for a Doune day.

20 minPark & Stride to the castle (Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail)
1–25 minpublished Park & Stride allowances
£10Doune adult online admission
275 mcastle approach, with steep cobbles

Sources: Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail and Historic Environment Scotland.

From the same car park

Download walks CSV
Published one-way walking time from Draggie Burn Park & Stride
Doune Ponds
1 min
Information and Heritage Centre
10 min
Doune Castle
20 min
Deanston Distillery
25 min
Four destinations from Draggie Burn Park & Stride. Sort by destination or published time.
Route condition
Doune Ponds1 minUses steps
Information and Heritage Centre10 minNot specified by the trail
Doune Castle20 minNot specified by the trail
Deanston Distillery25 minNot specified by the trail

These are the trail organiser’s walking allowances, not measured speeds or step-free guarantees. The Ponds shortcut uses steps; its Station Wynd car park provides a separate all-abilities entrance. Check the castle’s steep final approach before choosing a route.

Key takeaways

What does a Doune Castle visit cost, and how accessible is it?

Standard admission and published access information. Prices exclude any eligibility-based discounts.

What does a Doune Castle visit cost, and how accessible is it?
Figure, scope and source

Doune Castle standard adult admission costs £10 online in October 2026. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle standard concession admission costs £8 online in October 2026. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle admission for children aged 7–15 costs £5 online in October 2026. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle publishes daily summer opening hours of 09:30–17:30 for 1 April–30 September. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle publishes daily winter opening hours of 10:00–16:00 for 1 October–31 March, subject to holiday closures. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle closes admission 45 minutes before closing time. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle’s approach path is 275 metres long and ends in steep, uneven cobbles. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle has 22 steps from courtyard to servery and 26 steps from courtyard to kitchen. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

The published Stirling-to-Doune bus journey takes about 30 minutes, followed by 0.5 miles from Bank Street stop to the castle. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Doune Castle provides 2 accessible parking bays for blue badge holders, on a first-come basis. (Historic Environment Scotland, accessed October 2026)

Holiday closures: 25–26 December and 1–2 January. Winter last entry is 15:15, calculated from the published 16:00 closing time and 45-minute cutoff. Discounts and family tickets have separate conditions. Plan castle entry.

How long are the walks from Doune’s Park & Stride?

The same starting point makes these published walking allowances comparable. They are the trail organiser’s estimates, not our measured walking times.

How long are the walks from Doune’s Park & Stride?
Figure, scope and source

The Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail lists a 1-minute walk from Draggie Burn Park & Stride to Doune Ponds, using steps. (Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail, accessed October 2026)

The Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail lists a 10-minute walk from Draggie Burn Park & Stride to the Information and Heritage Centre. (Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail, accessed October 2026)

The Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail lists a 20-minute walk from Draggie Burn Park & Stride to Doune Castle. (Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail, accessed October 2026)

The Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail lists a 25-minute walk from Draggie Burn Park & Stride to Deanston Distillery. (Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail, accessed October 2026)

Doune Ponds contains 40 acres of woodland and water, according to its community management group. (Doune Community Woodland Group, accessed October 2026)

Choose a Ponds walk, or plan your arrival at the castle.

What does the Edinburgh-to-Stirling rail leg involve?

ScotRail’s route summary is based on a Monday timetable. These figures cover the railway leg only; they do not include the connection to Doune.

What does the Edinburgh-to-Stirling rail leg involve?
Figure, scope and source

ScotRail gives the average Edinburgh Waverley-to-Stirling rail journey as 55 minutes in its Monday-based route summary. (ScotRail, accessed October 2026)

ScotRail lists Edinburgh Waverley-to-Stirling return tickets from £12.60; the fare depends on the chosen journey. (ScotRail, accessed October 2026)

ScotRail lists up to 63 trains per day from Edinburgh Waverley to Stirling in its Monday-based route summary. (ScotRail, accessed October 2026)

ScotRail asks Edinburgh-to-Stirling passengers to book Passenger Assist at least 2 hours before travel, or before 22:00 for early next-day travel. (ScotRail, accessed October 2026)

What are the timing and access figures at Deanston and Argaty?

These are alternative stops around Doune, not a suggestion to fit every attraction into the same day. Confirm the exact date and ticket option with each operator.

What are the timing and access figures at Deanston and Argaty?
Figure, scope and source

Deanston Distillery publishes daily visitor opening hours of 10:00–17:00 in October 2026. (Deanston Distillery, accessed October 2026)

Deanston Distillery says its production tours and tastings accommodate 12 visitors; larger parties should contact it separately. (Deanston Distillery, accessed October 2026)

Deanston Distillery asks experience guests to arrive about 10 minutes before their booked start. (Deanston Distillery, accessed October 2026)

Deanston dates the former cotton mill that houses its visitor attraction to 1785, before it became a distillery. (Deanston Distillery, accessed October 2026)

Argaty Red Kites charges £12 per adult and £5 per child aged 6–16 for its formal feeding visit in October 2026. (Argaty Red Kites, accessed October 2026)

Argaty Red Kites’ feeding tours start at 13:45 from 21 February to 31 October. (Argaty Red Kites, accessed October 2026)

Argaty Red Kites’ feeding tours start at 13:15 from 1 November to 20 February. (Argaty Red Kites, accessed October 2026)

Argaty Red Kites places its viewing hide 350 metres up a gentle slope from the car park; request any lift before booking. (Argaty Red Kites, accessed October 2026)

Which dates explain Doune’s Monty Python connection?

The production’s own retrospective distinguishes the filming period from the film’s release. These are film-history figures, not visitor counts.

Which dates explain Doune’s Monty Python connection?
Figure, scope and source

Monty Python’s production account records 5 weeks of Holy Grail filming in April–May 1974, including Doune Castle. (Monty Python, 2014)

Monty Python’s production account says Doune Castle stood in for 3 different locations in The Holy Grail. (Monty Python, 2014)

Monty Python dates The Holy Grail’s world premiere to 14 March 1975 in Los Angeles; Doune filming had taken place the previous year. (Monty Python, 2014)

Match the screen locations to your castle visit.

What numbers matter when adding a Stirling-area stop?

Each row describes a different experience. Stair counts, visit lengths and opening hours do not measure the same thing and are not combined into a score.

What numbers matter when adding a Stirling-area stop?
Figure, scope and source

Blair Drummond Safari Park publishes opening hours of 10:00–17:30 on its homepage. (Blair Drummond Safari Park, accessed October 2026)

Blair Drummond Safari Park publishes last entry at 16:30 on its homepage. (Blair Drummond Safari Park, accessed October 2026)

Blair Drummond Safari Park’s 2026 ticket calendar says closing moves to 15:30 from 25 October. (Blair Drummond Safari Park, accessed October 2026)

The National Wallace Monument’s spiral staircase has 246 steps to its upper galleries and Crown. (National Wallace Monument, accessed October 2026)

The National Wallace Monument estimates a 15-minute walk from its visitor parking through the wooded slopes of Abbey Craig. (National Wallace Monument, accessed October 2026)

The National Wallace Monument closes admission 1 hour before closing time. (National Wallace Monument, accessed October 2026)

Stirling Old Town Jail lists standard adult performance-tour admission at £15 in October 2026. (Stirling Old Town Jail, accessed October 2026)

Stirling Old Town Jail says its whole visitor experience lasts 45–90 minutes. (Stirling Old Town Jail, accessed October 2026)

The Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum publishes opening hours of 10:00–17:00, Wednesday–Sunday, in October 2026. (Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum, accessed October 2026)

The Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum estimates a 13-minute walk from Stirling railway station. (Stirling Smith Art Gallery and Museum, accessed October 2026)

Plan a separate Stirling Castle stop. The safari park, monument, jail and museum are separate attractions with separate journeys and admission conditions.

All 26 heritage trail stops

Use the street and marker type to find the trail’s plaques and information boards. The local heritage trail publishes the full route map.

Doune and Deanston Heritage Trail markers
StopWhere to lookMarker
1. Second DivisionTeith Road, DeanstonPlaque
2. Memorial ClockTeith Road, DeanstonPlaque
3. John Grierson (filmmaker)Teith Road, DeanstonPlaque
4. Trysting StoneDoune Ponds Nature Reserve, Station WyndInformation board
5. Stationmaster’s HouseBalkerach Street, DounePlaque
6. Rural HallNorthlea, DounePlaque
7. Moray ParkMoray Street, DouneInformation board
8. J. M. W. Turner (artist)George Street, DouneInformation board
9. Moray InstituteGeorge Street, DounePlaque
10. Mile EndMain Street, DounePlaque
11. Cadell’s Pistol FactoryMain Street, DounePlaque
12. SundialMain Street, DounePlaque
13. Former Kilmadock Parish ChurchMain Street, DounePlaque
14. 56 Main StreetMain Street, DounePlaque
15. Doune PistolsCastlehill, DouneInformation board
16. Murdoch’s Pistol FactoryPark Lane, DounePlaque
17. Drinking FountainMain Street, DounePlaque
18. Roman FortCastlehill, DouneInformation board
19. Old Ardoch BridgeCastle Road, DounePlaque
20. Mill of DouneBy Ardoch Burn crossing, DouneInformation board
21. The Red LionBalkerach Street, DounePlaque
22. Pudden WyndGeorge Street, DounePlaque
23. Mercat CrossThe Cross, DouneInformation board
24. Lodge St James No 171George Street, DounePlaque
25. Sweetie LaneGraham Street, DounePlaque
26. Auld LichtGraham Street, DounePlaque

Download all 26 stops (CSV)

Download or cite the figures

Download all 40 facts (CSV) Download four walks (CSV)

Doune Castle research desk. “Doune Castle and nearby visits: 40 facts and figures.” Published 18 October 2026. https://dounecastle.com/doune/doune-facts-and-figures/

Methods and limitations

We checked 44 candidate figures and kept 40 from 10 organisations. Undated pages carry an access date, not a publication date. Walking times are the heritage trail’s four published allowances, not a speed calculation or a step-free guarantee; its 26 numbered markers are transcribed with their locations. Train counts are Monday-based. Prices, services and opening hours can change.

Next review: , or sooner if an operator changes the information. Send a correction with its primary source.

Original sources